RSS Feed
content top

Bob Dylan -

New Morning

Date: October 21, 1970
Release: COLUMBIA CK 30290
Cover Art: view / download
Buy the Album

A finely crafted album of diverse and heartfelt songs. With New Morning, Dylan discards obscure and impenetrable lyrics for emotionally accessible songs about love and life. The title track sounds like a blueprint of what would become Van Morrison’s trademark semi-acoustic soul sound of the early 70s. In “Sign on the Window,” Dylan sings about the virtues of settling down and starting a family, which is exactly what he tried to do around this time with the birth of his now famous son, Jakob. “The Man In Me” reveals an openly self-critical side to Dylan, who admits that “it takes a woman like you/to get through to the man in me.” Backed by a soulful chorus of female singers, this song is an absolute classic, and was used to great effect in the Coen brother’s “The Big Lebowski.” Other highlights include the spare “Three Angels,” with its atmospheric organ and gospel-tinged chorus, the comic jazz-blues of “If Dogs Run Free,” and the classic Dylan cynicism of “Went to See the Gypsy.”

Backed by a formidable roster of talents including Al Kooper and Charlie Daniels, this album runs the gamut from laid-back folk-rock to country-blues. None of the album’s cohesiveness is sacrificed in the name of variety, as it flows flawlessly from beginning to end like a true album should. A remarkable first offering in a decade which would see some significant changes in the man and his music.


  • Bob Dylan – Organ, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar, Harmonica, Piano, Guitar (Electric), Keyboards, Vocals
  • Al Kooper – Organ, Guitar, Piano, Guitar (Electric), Horn, French Horn, Keyboards
  • Ron Cornelius – Guitar, Guitar (Electric)
  • David Bromberg – Dobro, Guitar, Guitar (Electric)
  • Howard Buzzy Feiten – Guitar, Guitar (Electric)
  • Harvey Brooks – Bass, Bass (Electric)
  • Charlie Daniels – Bass, Guitar, Bass (Electric)
  • Russ Kunkel – Drums
  • Billy Mundi – Drums
  • Hilda Harris – Vocals, Vocals (background)
  • Albertine Robinson – Vocals, Vocals (background)
  • Maretha Stewart – Vocals, Vocals (background)


  1. If Not For You
  2. Day Of The Locusts
  3. Time Passes Slowly
  4. Went To See the Gypsy
  5. Winterlude
  6. If Dogs Run Free
  7. New Morning
  8. Sign On The Window
  9. One More Weekend
  10. The Man In Me
  11. Three Angels
  12. Father Of Night

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

content bottom