RSS Feed
content top

Francoise Hardy -

La Question

Date: 1971
Release: Virgin #40641
Cover Art: view / download
Buy the Album

“For Francoise Hardy, at the Seine’s edge…”

Bob Dylan, Another Side Of Bob Dylan

Unlike escargots, beautiful French women are not an acquired taste, especially when they can sing. A melancholy and sensual chanteuse, Francoise Hardy made a name for herself crafting lush love songs of great sophistication. Often characterized as aloof, the quietly self-possessed Hardy never allowed herself to be marketed on her abundant sex appeal. Disregarding her looks, she built a following strictly on the strength of her singing and songwriting talents. Although released in 1971, La Question endures as her most spare and seductive album. “Viens” opens the record with a dramatic flair designed to grab the listener’s attention. The title track follows, establishing the album’s elegant dreamlike mood. On such songs as “Chanson D’O,” “Mer,” and “Doigts,” Francoise’s breathy voice lulls you deeper into a deliciously languid state.

The mysterious Tuca (aka Valeniza Zagni da Silva) accompanies Hardy on acoustic guitar, co-arranging and co-writing most of the songs. Although largely unknown, Tuca was a talented musician who released two obscure albums in her native Brazil, Tuca and Dracula, I Love You, both of which remain impossible to find. Tuca’s chararacteristically delicate and uncluttered arrangements help define La Question, with her subtle touches of bass and strings beautifully accentuating Francoise’s sultry vocals. In several places, Hardy substitutes melodic humming in place of singing, wordlessly articulating the emotional essence of the song. “Bati Mon Nid” features a particularly catchy chorus of “la-la-la-la-la’s,” and the record ends with another refrain of “la-la-la” on “Reve.” A timelessly romantic album overflowing with after-hours ambience, this is the perfect disc to put on when snuggling close to the one you love.


  • Françoise Hardy – Vocals
  • Tuca – Acoustic Guitar, Co-arranger
  • Raymond Donnez – Arranger
  • Francis Moze – Bass


  1. Viens (Bilat/Tuca) – 2:15
  2. Question (Hardy/Tuca) – 3:02
  3. Meme Sous la Pluie (du Pac/Tuca) – 2:05
  4. Chanson d’O (Tuca) – 3:16
  5. Le Martien (Gerald/Tuca) – 2:48
  6. Mer (Hardy/Tuca) – 2:07
  7. Oui Je Dis Adieu (Hardy/Tuca) – 3:55
  8. Doigts (Hardy) – 1:45
  9. La Maison (G.G./Tuca) – 2:45
  10. Si Mi Caballero (Gerald/Tuca) – 3:05
  11. Bati Mon Nid (Gerald/Tuca) – 2:55
  12. Reve (Hardy/Taiguara) – 3:02

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

One Response:

  1. Martoni -

    Can someone tel a little more about the relationship betwwen Tuca and Francoise.

    Thanks, martoni

content bottom